Giving New Meaning To An Old Quote

I’ve listened to “The Strangest Secret” by Earl Nightingale more times than I can count, and so I’ve heard this quote countless times as well: “Ask and ye shall receive.” I’ve always thought that this quote had to do with deciding on your worthwhile purpose and making it known to the universe, as is suggested in discussions on the law of attraction.

But yesterday I had a discussion with my girlfriend who told me that one of her colleagues was offered the opportunity for a position, but declined it because he wanted to be chosen specifically for it, and not just handed the opportunity to apply for it.

I think this quote stands some re-imagining, at least on my part. Pride got in the way of that colleague’s opportunity…and you have to refuse to let that happen to you. Pride is a good thing to some extent, but when it interferes with your life on that level, it can be crippling.

Here’s a crazy piece of advice: you want something? Ask for it. I don’t mean ask the universe, I mean ask people. One thing I learned as a real estate agent was that when you are going to speak with someone about selling their home and listing with you, at some point in your spiel (bucket list updated, just used the word “spiel” in a blog post) you should ASK THEM TO LIST WITH YOU. It’s a crazy concept! What this does is eliminate the tendency agents have of overselling. But this isn’t about real estate, it’s about success in any area.

So don’t be afraid to ask people for what you need. Do your best not to let your pride get in the way of your opportunities and your success. Sometimes asking is the best way to get what you need to move forward – IRRATIONAL LIVING. LLC

SHARE . COMMENT

