Rudbeckia Revisited

In my clime, we know it simply as sun flower….Lol!!!

It took me over 6 months to identify the flower seen below. I showed a prior capture to my zoo botanist who identified it for me. I verified his claim and renames all 6 of my former captures to Rudbeckia #1, #2, #3 etc.. Now when I come across one in my archives there’s the correct name under the flower.

The zoo ground staff works very hard to plant a wide range of diverse plants throughout the zoo grounds. If corse they must make sure these plants will survive our climate but considering the mild weather and generally aboundant rainfall and sun they can grow about anything in Oregon. We benefit from that climate.

Rudbeckia is a plant genus in the sunflower family. The species are commonly called coneflowers and black-eyed-susans; all are native to North America and many species are cultivated in gardens for their showy yellow or…

View original post 3 more words

