This Small Child Lost His Father And Home, But One Picture Shows His Unrelenting Perseverance

His mother is especially proud…

Scroll down to watch video

A picture of 9-year-old Daniel Cabrera has gone viral. The boy was pictured completing his homework under the light of a local fast food parking lot in Cebu City in the Philippines, while sitting on his legs and using a small wooden bench as a desk. This has become his regular study location, as the third grader’s home has no electricity.

Medical student Joyce Torrefranca saw Cabrera and stopped to take the photo of him. Per Metro UK:

“As a student, it gave me an inspiration to work harder. I’m fortunate my parents were able to send me to school,” she said. “This kid just hit me.”

The young boy, who attends Subangdaku Elementary School in Mandaue City had no studybook, and held up his only pencil. When asked why he keeps a rosary in his bag, he answered: “So that no one will steal my pencil.”

“I think I want to be a policeman,” he said. “I also want to be a doctor.”

Upon hearing Cabrera’s desire to become a cop, local police officers decided to lend help, and made a promise to collect donations for him.

His mother, Maria Christina Espinosa, is especially proud of her son after learning that he is now famous on Facebook. She works and stays at a nearby eatery with Daniel and his younger brother, Gabriel, to provide for her family.

Source: Western Journalism

SHARE. COMMENT

