Do You Give Up Too Often?

In my book, I redefine failure as a step toward success, so that each time we “fail” at something (in society’s definition of “fail”), we are really taking one more step toward success. Like Edison said, “I haven’t failed 10,000 times. I’ve found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” Each one was a step toward creating the light bulb. I adore this idea, because if you simply refuse to fail, and instead continue taking steps toward success, then how could you possibly NOT succeed? Expect set backs, but think of setbacks like Les Brown does: “a setback is a set up for a comeback.”

I always thought of this in terms of “failing” in doing whatever it is you want to do. For example, if you want to be an author, then every rejection from a literary agent is a step. And so I looked back at my life at the ripe, old age of 24, and all of the things I started and never finished in my life seemed like failures, because they had nothing to do with my life’s calling: medical school, formal musician, informal musician, real estate agent…the list goes on and on, my friends.

But then someone smarter than I am told me that maybe those failures were just steps as well, just steps outside of what I was doing. I always had these failures looming over me, threatening me that I would fail again, because it was in my nature. But when I look at these things, I can see that in each endeavor I learned something that is currently helping me do what I love. So how are these not steps?

I wasn’t taking my own advice: see your “failures,” ALL of them, as steps toward your success IRRATIONAL LIVING,LLC

SHARE .COMMENT

